Transition and USATF blunders

Before I discuss my training I want to say how relieved I am that Gabe Grunewald has been reinstated as the indoor 3k national champion. The uproar from this incident was enormous and although I am glad Gabe has been reinstated, I still believe USATF has some big questions to answer. By using Jordan Hasay’s protest withdrawal as the reason for reinstatement, USATF simply passed the buck. The fact that it took so much outrage to overturn their decision in the first place is most troubling to me. The appeals process and Nike’s influence on USATF reveal systemic problems that must be addressed. I hope this situation will act as a boiling point and cause real change. I hope the running community keeps the pressure on USATF to truly address the larger and more glaring problems that exist in their organization. USATF claims it exists to serve the athlete, yet, up to this point, there are countless examples that suggest otherwise. From a purely ZAP standpoint, recall the experiences of Joe Driscoll, Kyle King, and Joe Stilin at various US Championships. I have much more to say on this topic but I will spare you with my commentary as there has been lots of good reporting on the situation by LetsRun.com and Jon Gugala to name just a few.

Now on to less dramatic matters…

Last week was very easy training wise. I am currently in a rest/transition time so I was on a 1 day on, 1 day off schedule with the day ‘on’ being an easy run between 45-65 minutes and the ‘off’ day being completely off. Next week I will extend my runs to 75-80 minutes and throw in cross training of some sort on the ‘off’ days. Usually, the elliptical is my cross-training machine of choice so I foresee several hours of fun on it in the upcoming week.

And because there is not much else for me to cover this week I made a list of things that I do when on a break from heavy training:

  1. Eat junk food: Pizza and Sour Patch Kids are favorites.
  2. Learn how to make sushi: Success!
  3. Baking homemade bread: Alissa McKaig would be proud.
  4. Watching any and all Olympic sports: Ice dancing sadly included (see: twizzles).
  5. Sleeping in: So late that you wake up and feel like you missed something.
  6. Staying up late: I feel like a middle school boy discussing my extended bedtime.
  7. Drink more beer: Including the Sam Adams in my fridge with a dangerously near expiration date.
  8. Unpack from almost 2 months away from ZAP: This is a process.
  9. Plan my racing schedule for the upcoming season: B.A.A. 5k and US 25k to name a few.
  10. Start the youth soccer season with HCSA (High Country Soccer Association): Since signing with ZAP in 2010, I have coached several club teams. This spring, I’ve got an under 12 girls team.
  11. Attempt to not feel overly guilty for several of the above indulgences: #1, #5, #6, and #7.

Here is my last week of training (2/16 to 2/22):

Sunday: OFF

Monday: 6 miles

Tuesday: OFF

Wednesday: 7 miles

Thursday: OFF

Friday: 8 miles

Saturday: 65 minutes elliptical

Total: 21 miles, 3 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Transition and USATF blunders

  1. Ema says:

    Good insight. Following closely!!

Leave a Reply

