Quick trip to New Jersey

Coming in to the week I was feeling decent and looking forward to my visit with Esther in New Jersey. Esther is currently running for the NYAC and coaching at Rider University. I hadn’t seen her in about 6 weeks and I was excited to for the visit, especially now that the harsh winter had passed. I visited in February and it was rough! Even though I currently live in Blowing Rock, I am a Charleston, SC boy at heart and extreme winter causes me some dismay. On Sunday, Tyler and I had a nice long run at Moses Cone and on Tuesday I was off to see Esther.

After arriving late Tuesday, I had a tempo workout slated for Wednesday morning. I decided I wanted to do it in nearby Princeton, NJ on the tow path. The tow path is a mostly flat gravel and dirt path that runs near Princeton University. It is a nice venue for a tempo but unfortunately my legs must have been a bit tired from my travels and my tempo was sub par at best. The workout was a 30 minute evenly paced tempo, 5 minute float easy, and then a 20 minute tempo where the goal was to get faster each mile. The 30 minute section was fine but I was not able to progress on the second piece as  much as Pete had planned (he wanted it to get down to around 4:50). Aerobically I felt fine, but I was not able to really work through the gears and run fast at the end. All in all, I got the work in and sometimes that’s all you can do.

The next day I had two easy runs and chose to run 1 of them on the Princeton University cross country course which was beautiful. The grass was mowed neatly and ended up being a perfect place to trot around for an easy hour.

Princeton University cross country course

Princeton University cross country course

Also, on Thursday night Esther and I revived a favorite pastime of ours and went to Triumph Brewery for Trivia Night. When Esther and Alissa were both living at ZAP, we (along with Tyler) would attend Monday night trivia at Galileo’s in Boone. We were never victorious but it was always lots of fun. As was the case in Boone, Esther and I were once again defeated but had some good moments. Best question of the night we (Esther) answered: What was the reason the outcast character in the ‘Breakfast Club’ was in detention?….Answer: No reason, she just had nothing better to do.

Following trivia, Raleigh, NC’s own American Aquarium was in town for a free show! Ryan Warrenburg, ZAP assistant coach and former athlete, is a big fan of the band and he was slightly jealous/excited that I would get to see them live. It was a very cool show and a nice night.

American Aquarium performed at Triumph Brewery on Thursday night.

American Aquarium performed at Triumph Brewery on Thursday night.

I got in almost 110 miles for the week and my legs were feeling pretty tired but I know all my aerobic work over the past 6 weeks will be important when I begin racing again. Tired or not, I am still excited for the Litchfield Hills Road Race coming up on June 8. All in all a great week and a great visit!

Here is my last week of training (5/18-5/24):

Sunday: AM: 19 miles (8×20 seconds post run)

Monday: AM: 7 miles   PM: 7 miles

Tuesday: AM: 12 miles   PM: 5 miles

Wednesday: AM: 15 miles (20 min+15 min tempo)

Thursday: AM: 10 miles   PM: 7 miles

Friday: AM: 12 miles (10×20 seconds post run)   PM: 5 miles

Saturday: AM: 11 miles (8×100 meters post run)

Total: 109 miles, 11 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

