Back in the High Country

Shortly before leaving New Jersey, I was able to get in a long run at Forbidden Drive in Philadelphia. It was only 45 minutes from Esther’s apartment and we were able to meet up with former ZAP senior intern James Snyder. James is currently the Assistant Track and XC at Temple University and he came along for 11 of my 19 mile long run. I really liked Forbidden Drive as it reminded me of a cross between Watauga River Road and the Virginia Creeper Trail. It was roughly 5.75 miles one way and was well shaded the entire time. Snyder and I started easily but by the time he finished his run we were running 6 minute pace and from there I gradually picked it up the last 7 or 8 miles. I was only able to clock the last 7 miles but I ran was 5:55, 5:54, 5:38, 5:34, 5:26, 5:18, 5:12. It was a great run with great company.

A section of Forbidden Drive in Philly.

A section of Forbidden Drive in Philly.

After arriving back in Blowing Rock, I was scheduled to workout Wednesday morning but my Frontier Airlines flight was 5 HOURS LATER than scheduled (2am instead of 9pm)! Pete thankfully allowed me to push the workout to Thursday.

On Thursday, I did 9×1200 meters at Moses Cone. I ran the 1200’s between 3:39 and 3:35 and jogged the remaining 300 meters of the 1500 meter loop as recovery. It was a solid workout considering I was by myself and it got quite hot towards the end. My legs are feeling better with every week. In addition to my Thursday workout I had some strides or faster running on 4 of the 7 days during the week. This year I have been more committed to making sure I do strides several times per week in addition to my quality long runs and workout days. I think maintaining proper economy is important with all the mileage that I normally put in. Gotta try to stay as fast as possible!

Next week I will be traveling to Litchfield, CT for the 7.1 mile Litchfield Hills Road Race. Esther will be at the race as well to defend her 2013 title and I hope I’ll be able to get the win this year on the men’s side. The course is tough but I am excited/nervous to see where I’m at after my brief hiatus from racing due to low iron. Hopefully next week I will have good news to share!

Elevation profile of Litchfield.

Elevation profile of Litchfield. Gallows Lane looms.

Here is my last week of training (5/25-5/31):

Sunday: AM: 19 miles (8×1 min surges last 8 miles)

Monday: AM: 6 miles   PM: 6 miles

Tuesday: AM: 11 miles  PM: 6 miles (5×30 seconds post run)

Wednesday: AM: 10 miles (10×20 seconds post run)

Thursday: AM: 14 miles (1200 workout)  PM: 5 miles

Friday: AM: 9 miles   PM: 8 miles

Saturday: AM: 10 miles

Total: 104 miles, 11 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

