Last push of the season

imgres

I will keep this week very brief as ZAP is very busy as we all prepare for “The Bear” week of  running camp on Sunday. First, I am heading down to Atlanta for the Peachtree Road Race. This year Peachtree doubles as the US 10k national championships so I am excited to race against the best our country has to offer.

Check out the full elite fields here: http://www.runnerspace.com/eprofile.php?event_id=2515&do=news&news_id=268498.

Last week I got in a solid workout coming off of my half marathon in Duluth and feel ready to turn some heads in Atlanta. The workout consisted of a quicker 1k to open  at Bass Lake (2:51) and after a few minutes jog recovery I climbed from the lake to the grave. The grave is roughly 10 minutes short of the fire tower, which is the highest point in Moses Cone National Park. I completed the roughly 4 mile climb in just over 2o minutes. After the climb I did 8×30 second accelerations to add some economy. It was a good session coming off of a half marathon only 6 days before.

My plan for Peachtree is to take risks and finish in the top 10. This will be challenging but I know that if I stay engaged early and my body feels decent it is more than possible. Each of the last 2 years I have gotten to Peachtree very tired (as it was the last race of my season) but this year I think Pete and I have timed it a lot better.

Following the race on Friday, I will spend 2 days in Atlanta with my parents and then I will head to Rome, GA on Monday for a soccer coaching certification course. In the world of youth and college soccer, coaches are expected to acquire various badges and certifications as they work their way up the ranks in the game. I will be taking my NSCAA Advanced National course next week and they are grueling! It consists of 7, 8 hour days of being on the field and learning about how to better present the game of soccer to youth players. I will have to run several of my own sessions throughout the week as well as take various oral and written exams. The course will be fun and luckily I will be on a break from training during that week! Wish me luck!

Here is my last week of training (6/22-6/28):

Sunday: AM: 7 miles

Monday: AM: 8 miles   PM: 7 miles

Tuesday: AM: 10 miles  PM: 5 miles

Wednesday: AM: 12 miles (10×20 seconds post run)

Thursday: AM: 10 miles (8×20 seconds post run)

Friday: AM: 11 miles (1k, lake to grave climb, 8×30 second accelerations)  PM: 5 miles

Saturday: AM: 10 miles

Total: 85 miles, 10 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

