My last week of training

After returning from Rome, GA I eased into my second (and last) week of transitional training before diving headfirst into my first marathon build up. I ran every day this week but with the exception of a medium long run on Thursday, all of my runs were an hour or less in duration. I noticed that the 8 days off I took made me feel a bit stale and awkward. My first few days were nice and easy but I had moments where I felt like a baby giraffe learning to walk for the first time!

I do not have much to talk about this week training wise so I will give a few bullet points on what happened around ZAP in the past week:

1. Another adult running camp was in town for the long weekend. We had runners from all over converge on Blowing Rock from places as close as Charlotte and as far away as Canada. Mark and Amy Carroll were the guest speakers for this camp and I really enjoyed hearing them speak about their respective careers. Both are incredibly humble for the amount of success each had in their careers. Amy is a former American record holder in the 5,000m at 14:56 while Mark is the holder of several Irish records with personal bests of 13:03 for 5k and 7:30(!!) for 3k. Hearing them both talk about what they did right and wrong during their long careers is encouraging and motivating. Also, Mark is a decent ping pong player too and is always eager to get a quick game in!

ZAP campers from last week. (Photo Credit: Sharlene)

ZAP campers from last week. (Photo Credit: Sharlene)

2. We lost a dear friend last week as well. He (or she?) was there through lots of breakthrough performances and got to see lots of cool cities in the past year. Said entity was a getting old and starting to become a bit burdensome so it was abruptly cut off from its host. Yes, I am referring to teammate Tyler Pennel’s rattail. Tyler’s rattail had graced the starting line of many races, proudly flapped in the breeze on many an award’s stage, and also caused extreme jealousy in a teammate (me) who once arrogantly believed that his rattail was something special. Mine was juvenile in comparison to Tyler’s epic, brave, and nasty tuft of AMERICA. You shall be missed.

Pour one out folks!

Pour one out in remembrance folks!

3. Former ZAP intern and current High Point University head women’s cross country coach Jenna Wrieden is spending the next two weeks at ZAP as she begins her own marathon build up. Jenna is slated to run Chicago this year and is aiming for the Olympic Trials standard of 2:43. She is hoping to kick start her training at the friendly confines of ZAP and we are happy to have here around. GO PANTHERS!

Here is my last week of training(7/13-7/19):

Sunday: AM: 5 miles   PM: walk after travel back to ZAP

Monday: AM: 6 miles

Tuesday: AM: 9 miles

Wednesday: AM: 9 miles    PM: 45 minute elliptical

Thursday: AM: 13 miles (8×20 seconds post run)

Friday: AM: 9 miles

Saturday: AM: 9 miles

Total: 60 miles, 7 runs, 1 cross training session

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

