My last week of training (10/26-11/1)

How I spent much of the week!

How I spent much of the week!

Last week was supposed to include my first moderate workout since the marathon but my body had other plans. Several ZAPsters have been feeling under the weather lately and I was unable to escape the sickness. Early in the week I had a sore throat but I continued to run very easily with the hope that it would subside. Some of you may think that is ridiculous logic but I have been slightly under the weather before and reduced the intensity of my training and been ok. Alas, this was not one of those times as I moved my long run run to Tuesday and then proceeded to fly to NJ which only exacerbated my symptoms.

Flying is truly a terrible thing with regards to maintaining overall health. Everyone is sitting in such close proximity and the chances of another passenger spreading his or her very own blend of bacteria my way is very HIGH! I woke up Wednesday feeling terrible and spent much of my trip in NJ taking every over the counter remedy available in the vain attempt of getting better!

Despite my sickened state, I still had a great time visiting Esther at her new apartment in Hopewell, NJ. We will see each other again on Thanksgiving in my hometown of Charleston, SC where we will both be racing the local turkey trot.

I’m hopeful that my chest will clear up soon as I am very eager to start getting in quality training once again. Thanks for reading!

Here is my last week of training (10/26-11/1):

Sunday: AM: 11 miles (cut short, was feeling sick)

Monday: AM: 9 miles

Tuesday: AM: 17 miles (8×20 seconds post run)   PM: travel to NJ

Wednesday: OFF, SICK!

Thursday: AM: 6.5 miles   PM: 7.5 miles (8x100m post run)

Friday: AM: 6 miles    PM: travel back to ZAP

Saturday: OFF, SICKER!

Total: 57 miles, 6 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

