Back at it!

Last week I took a trip to Statesboro, GA with the App. St. men’s soccer team for the Sunbelt Conference tournament. I left on Wednesday morning after an easy 9 mile run with Tyler and after arriving in Georgia I planned on getting in a nice, easy 5 miler to close out my day around the Georgia Southern campus. Unfortunately, my sense of direction was not strong on this evening and my 5 mile run turned into a 10+ mile run. So I ended up getting nearly a 20 mile day by mistake!

The team won their quarterfinal match on Thursday evening against NJIT, but after a quick 16 hour turnaround were unable to get past Hartwick College in Friday’s semifinal. I had a great time working with the team and although it was a disappointing end to the season, the team only had 4 seniors graduate leaving a great group of underclassmen ready to take that next step and earn their spot in the NCAA tournament next season.

Eagle Field on the campus of Georgia Southern University.

Eagle Field on the campus of Georgia Southern University.

Running wise, I was able to get in my first workout since the marathon and being sick. After returning to Boone late Friday night, I woke up Saturday and made my way to Moses Cone for a session of 2:30 downcycles. This workout consists of 2 minute and 30 seconds of harder running followed by 90 seconds of recovery which leads back into the next 2:30 segment. Also, within each 2:30 segment the goal is to increase your pace every 30 seconds; so 5 gear changes for every 2:30 segment. The challenge of this fartlek workout is to make sure your opening 90 seconds is done in a controlled but forward fashion so that you can truly get faster with each 30 second piece. Pete had me do 9, 2:30 cycles plus 8×15 second strides. The park was quite icy but I was still happy with my effort and very pleased to be able to workout again after almost 6 weeks of herky-jerky and inconsistent training.

Next week I am slated to have 2 workouts as I try to get my legs back underneath me in time for my Turkey Trot 5k in Charleston. Thanks for reading!

Here is my last week of training (11/9-11/15):

Sunday: AM: 14.5 miles

Monday: AM: 6.5 miles

Tuesday: AM: 12 miles

Wednesday: AM: 9 miles   PM: 10 miles

Thursday: AM: 11 miles (6×200 post run)

Friday: AM: 9.5 miles (8×20 seconds post run) PM: 3 mile shakeout pre travel

Saturday: AM: 11.5 (3 sets of 2:30 downcycles, 8×15 seconds hard)

Total: 87 miles, 8 runs, 1 shakeout

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

