Thanksgiving Recap

I was happy to be able to return home to Charleston, SC for Thanksgiving day for the first time since I arrived at ZAP in 2010. I have raced on both coasts on Turkey Day through the years and was happy to come home and run the only race I did growing up. As people know I was a soccer player all my life but I did run 1 race per year from about 12 years old onward, the Charleston Turkey Day Run and Gobble Wobble 5k!

This year I was lucky to have Esther run the race with me and both of us were intent on winning our respective races. Unfortunately, the time I missed through sickness and my calf issues proved too much and I produced a DUD of a performance, 2nd place in 15:02 to former Georgetown runner and current Charleston resident Michael Banks. After going out in 4:34 I felt like I was going all out and although I fought hard against a very strong wind the last 2.1 miles, I was unable to make up any ground on Banks and crossed the line knowing that I just shook off A LOT of rust.

To be honest, I am not that disappointed with the race because it means very little right now. Yes, I always want to win but when I looked back in my training log since Twin Cities on October 5, I have been all over the place with very little quality work or volume to speak of. I am looking forward to USATF Club Cross Country Championships in 2 weeks and hope that the ZAP team can avenge our 1(!) point loss we suffered last year. On a brighter note, Esther ran her race unchallenged and, although she didn’t run as fast as she wanted, got the win in 16:54.

13

Lastly on an even BRIGHTER note, Esther and I got engaged on Thursday evening. I have been planning the night since before Twin Cities and with the help of my family it turned out perfectly. Esther and I went for a walk after eating Thanksgiving dinner and while we were gone my family laid out 3 dozen mason jars with tea light candles in them.

The setup crew!

The setup crew!

The candles formed a path down to the marsh by my parents home where two Adirondack chairs waited. Between the chairs was a small tree with rose shaped candles surrounding its base. On the tree I had made various signs that highlighted the things that have made Esther and I fall in love. After showing her each of the signs, I asked her if she would place a final sign on the tree which said ‘Will you marry me?” in Scrabble letters, a favorite game of ours.

Happily she said yes and it was a great night. I am excited to have met Esther at ZAP and feel very lucky she accepted my proposal. The fantastic end of my day certainly made my subpar race seem trivial!

Nt7EMZMwMvcWRz2wz5FgwqlMH-ZS540QI-TRbcdxes8

Enough of this mushy stuff! I will be making the trip up to New Jersey for the next few weeks before Clubs, including getting in a key workout on the Lehigh course (site of Club XC) next Wednesday. Thanks for reading!

Here is my last week of training (11/23-11/29):

Sunday: AM: 15 miles

Monday: AM: 10 miles (4-3-2-1, 3-2-1 fartlek)

Tuesday: AM: 8 miles   PM: 5 miles

Wednesday: AM: 9 miles (4×30 seconds post run)

Thursday: AM: 10 miles (5k race)  PM: 4 miles

Friday: AM: 12 miles

Saturday: AM: 10 miles   PM: 5 miles

Total: 88 miles, 10 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

