NYC bound

I spent last week in Richmond, VA with Esther’s family to celebrate Christmas. It was nice to see Esther’s parents and sisters as well as her 2 year old nephew Lee. As you would expect, Lee was the star of the proceedings as any and everything he did was THE MOST AWESOME THING OF ALL TIME! All kidding aside, Lee is a really cool little guy who is always super relaxed and fun to be around.

Over the course of the visit, Esther and I learned that he loves truck videos, in particular a series of YouTube truck song videos that are quite hilarious when seen from an adult’s perspective. The “Excavator” song is fantastic mostly due to the fact that the lyrics are sung in a very serious and very genuine way that seems comical in the context of the intended audience. I’m attaching it below and I encourage you to watch it, 24 million viewers can’t be wrong, right?

Training wise, I had another good week. I did a long hill cycle workout on Wednesday at Bryan Park in Richmond. Hill cycles are a staple ZAP workout and I did my best to replicate the terrain we use at Moses Cone. The loop I used did not have as steep of an uphill as in NC but it was still a hilly 1300 meter loop that offered flat, downhill, and uphill portions. I opened with a quick 1200 meter piece around 4:25 pace and followed that with a 25 minute hill segment, 5 minutes easy, a 15 minute hill segment, 5 minutes easy, and finally a 7 minute hill segment. Overall, I got slightly faster on each hill cycle segment with my overall pace for the workout (with recovery jogs) around 5:20 pace meaning the ‘on’ portions were run between 4:50 and 5:10 pace.

Last year's start.

Last year’s start right at 12:00 am!

Next up for me is the NYRR Midnight Run on New Years Eve. Last year, I was able to win the race and I hope to defend my title this year. The 4 mile race is unique because it starts at midnight in Central Park and fireworks are going off throughout the entire race. The NYRR have again put together a solid professional field and I am excited for the challenge.

Esther is running as well and the NYRR did a great pre-race write up about us. Check it out here: http://www.nyrr.org/media-center/press-releases/american-road-racing-power-couple-cole-atkins-and-esther-erb-to-headline-nyrr-midnight-run .

Wish me luck and check back here for my recap next week!

Here is my last week of training (12/21-12/27):

Sunday: AM: 19 miles (1 min surges last 80 min)

Monday: AM: 9 miles   PM: 6 miles

Tuesday: AM: 12 miles (10×20 sec post run)

Wednesday: AM: 18 miles (25-15-7 hill cycles workout)

Thursday: AM: 9 miles   PM: 7 miles

Friday: AM: 12 miles (8×30 steep uphill strides)   PM: 5.5 miles

Saturday: AM: 10.5 miles

Total: 108, 10 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “NYC bound

  1. emily says:

    May the power of the excavator be with you tonight!

Leave a Reply

