On to Greenville, SC!

I now find myself in the heart of marathon training. Although L.A. is only a month away I had my heaviest mileage week ever this past week. All told, I ran 122 miles and got in 2 quality workouts over the 7 day period.

On Monday I had 2×7 miles at the St. Mark’s bike path in Tallahassee. I got up very early to get my body acclimated to what race morning will be like and was excited to get in a good marathon long run. Unfortunately, my body was not feeling great and I got in a sub-par session. The first 7 mile piece was perfect time wise but I could tell I was fighting a bit too early to hit my given paces. I ran between  5:11 and 5:06 for the 7 miles and after an easy float mile, the plan was to start slower than the first piece ended but progressively get faster by the end, hopefully around 5:00. I started the 2nd piece at 5:21 pace but could not get any faster! I decided to do 5 miles of the 7 as my calf/achilles was getting a bit tight and I wasn’t progressing as planned. I ran the 1st 4 miles from 5:18-5:20 and then gutted out a 5:11 for the last mile. All in all, it was a tough workout and in the context of all the mileage I have been doing it was a good effort. Hey, not every workout is going to be a home run!

After some easy days of running, I came back on Friday to St. Mark’s intent on getting in a GREAT session. The plan was to run 2k-1k-500 x4. The 2k’s were supposed to be run between 6:15-6:20 or slightly faster than marathon pace, the 1k’s were to be run between 2:58-3:00 or around half marathon pace, and the 500 meter pieces were to be run between 1:22-1:25 or around 5k effort.

It turned out to be a great session and I was able to move well throughout the entire workout which was about 14,000 meters of hard running! Here were my splits: 6:14, 2:57, 1:24…6:14, 2:58, 1:24…6:14, 2:57, 1:24…6:10, 2:55, 1:23. I was very pleased with the workout despite the fact that my calf started getting very tight towards the end of the workout. Hopefully it heals well over the coming days as my last marathon specific long run is next Thursday.

After the workout on Friday, Burg, Sarah, and I made the trip from Tallahassee to Greenville, SC and Furman University. It was another fantastic training camp in Florida and I was sad to go but Furman is also a great training venue. We have access to the Furman Fitness Center, are able to eat in the dining hall, and have access to Furman’s Alter-G if needed. I will be here for the next 20 days and then it’s on to L.A.

Thanks for reading!

The beautiful Furman campus.

The beautiful Furman campus.

Here is my last week of training (2/15-2/21):

Sunday: AM: 10 miles (8×20 seconds post run)  PM: 7 miles

Monday: AM: 20 miles (1×7 miles, 1×5 miles workout)

Tuesday: AM: 10 miles   PM: 7 miles

Wednesday: AM: 13 miles   PM: 6 miles

Thursday: AM: 11.5 miles (9×20 seconds post run)

Friday: AM: 16.5 miles (2k-1k-500×4 workout)  PM: 5 miles

Saturday: AM: 10 miles  PM: 6 miles

Total: 122 miles, 12 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

