Hay nearly in the barn

Since arriving in Greenville, SC I have been dealing with a very tight and sore calf. I felt it seize up during my last workout in Tallahassee, FL and have been trying to get it loosened up ever since then. It steadily improved with each passing day but I spent several easy days limping along the Swamp Rabbit Trail in Greenville. Luckily, I have been able to see Brad McKay at Performance Therapy (http://performance-therapy.com/)for some much needed ART work so by the time Thursday rolled around I was ready for my last marathon specific long run.

Also, I figured out that the treadmill was way more friendly to my sore calf than pavement so Pete and I decided to do the long run on it just to be safe. Oddly enough, it snowed about 6 inches the night before the long run so I would have been on the treadmill anyway had my calf been 100%. It ended up being a great run and I felt very little soreness during the harder pieces. In all, I ran 24 miles total with 2×5 miles tempo and 8×800 mixed in. The only downside was that the treadmill I used only went to 12.0 mph, or 5:00 per mile, so we had to get creative with the 800’s and alter the incline a bit. Here are the specifics of the session:

-5-6 mile warm up easy

-5 mile tempo at 1% grade with 3×2 min at 2% grade, 3×2 min at 3% grade within piece, pace started at 5:28 down to 5:10 by the end

-3 min easy jog

-5 mile tempo at 1% grade with 5×2 min at 2% grade within piece, pace started at 5:16 down to 5:05 by the end

-1 mile easy jog

-8×800 with 90 seconds jog between each, 5:00 pace at 2.5% (coverts to around 4:50ish pace depending on what chart you refer to)

-2-3 mile cool down

As you can see Pete designed the opening tempo sections with some rolling hills built in at 2-3% grade. The 800’s were meant to be faster than 5:00 pace effort so we upped the incline to make it more realistic. Overall, I felt very strong and was ecstatic I was able to get in the session.

Since this session I have still been feeling some lingering pain in my calf and have continued to get worked on as much as possible. I have my last real workout before LA next week (10×3 min within 16 mile run) and hope that my calf is able to withstand it before really backing off the mileage and tapering.

Please send positive thoughts towards my ailing calf as I near the race. I feel very fit and am excited to accomplish what I could not at Twin Cities in October, health permitting. Thanks for reading!

Here is my last week of training (2/22-2/28):

Sunday: AM: 13 miles  PM: 5 miles

Monday: AM: 11 miles

Tuesday: AM: 13 miles  PM: 5 miles treadmill

Wednesday: AM: 13 miles

Thursday: AM: 24 miles treadmill (2×5 miles, 8×800 long run)

Friday: AM: 8 miles

Saturday: AM: 10 miles   PM: 7 miles treadmill

Total: 109 miles, 10 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Hay nearly in the barn

  1. Vivienne says:

    Sending positive vibes to heal your calf. My 1st cousin, Cathie lives in Greenville so I told her to watch for you running around town! Give your fiance a hug for me when you see her.
    Happy trails as you run into springtime Cole!

Leave a Reply

