No to LA but yes to Boston?

I was very hopeful entering the week that my calf was moving in the right direction and that I would be able to toe the line for the LA Marathon on Sunday. On Tuesday, I did the classic pre-marathon session of 2×2 miles at marathon pace but at the end of the 2nd 2 mile segment I could feel my calf getting slightly tight. It wasn’t terrible by any means but it was incredibly worrisome. How would I be able to run 26.2 miles on undulating pavement if a 2×2 mile workout was giving me issues? Stubbornly, I still intended on racing after this workout but when Pete arrived the following day we had a meeting and decided it wasn’t worth the risk.

It was very tough to pull out of the race when I wasn’t 100% injured. I was healing slowly but not to the degree that racing would have been smart. Early in my ZAP career I missed entire seasons through various ailments (torn plantar, achilles issues, low iron, etc.) but during those times it was very clear that I couldn’t have raced even if I wanted to. This time the decision to not run was the MATURE thing to do but also tough for 3 main reasons:

1. I would be missing a US Championship which is a great stage to move up the American distance running pecking order.

2. The training cycle was almost perfect. I had only 1 subpar workout and the rest were SPOT on. And even with the calf strain I did not miss 1 day of running…although in hindsight maybe I should have.

3. ZAP has invested so much into me and I always hate (hate!) missing a race that would allow me to repay their ample support.

So, because I didn’t run on Sunday, I will now turn my eyes to healing 100% over the coming week or so. I truly believe my calf is 90% healed and almost ready to dive back into full training. If that happens the plan is now to run the Boston Marathon in 5 weeks. Pete, Ryan, and I all agree I’m very fit and want to see that fitness on display soon. And even though Boston was not the original goal, I am very excited to run this historic race. Tyler and I were in Boston last year to watch the race and feel the amazing energy that takes over the city on Patriot’s Day and we both wanted to be back there one day. Well, this year will hopefully be my chance and I am excited for the opportunity.

Thanks to Bill Orr and the LA Marathon for being so understanding of my decision to not race and thanks to Mike Peroni and the BAA for allowing me to run Boston on such short notice!

Patrick Joyce of Reebok and I previewing the 2016 Olympic Trials course in downtown L.A.

Patrick Joyce of Reebok and I previewing the 2016 Olympic Trials course in downtown L.A.

Here is my last week of training (3/8-3/14):

Sunday: AM: 15 miles (1 min & 30 sec surges)

Monday: AM: 6.5 miles

Tuesday: AM: 10 miles (2×2 mile at MP)  PM: 4 miles

Wednesday: AM: 9.5 miles

Thursday: OFF, travel to LA

Friday: AM: OFF    PM: 3 miles with Esther

Saturday: AM: OFF   PM: 6 miles on LA OT course

Total: 53 miles, 7 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “No to LA but yes to Boston?

  1. Kiki Wallace says:

    You’re due for an HCSA shoutout, you gotta be missing us a little bit.

Leave a Reply

