Recovery week (w/some soccer thrown in!)

Last week was all about recovery. After the marathon I took 4 days completely off. I took walks each day and just let my body relax. I had a good deal of junk food and beer and tried to not think about running that much. I also found a few pictures from the race showing my various stages of pain! Enjoy!

Early in the race. (MarathonFoto.com)

Early in the race. (MarathonFoto.com)

Just after 30k before things started to fall apart. (MarathonFoto.com)

Just after 30k before things started to fall apart. (MarathonFoto.com)

Just trying to get to the finishing line. (MarathonFoto.com)

Just trying to get to the finish line. (MarathonFoto.com)

I was quite sore for the first 2-3 days after the race but that improved quickly. Well, everything improved other than my hamstrings! Having cramped in that area for over 10k at Boston my hamstrings and hamstring/glute attachments are still screaming at me almost a week later.

One interesting non-running development of the last 2 weeks is that I am now coaching a U16 boys club soccer team in New Jersey for the month of May. I was contacted by someone at Next Level Soccer Academy in Pennington, NJ and they were in need of a replacement coach for this team. I ran a training session for the group as a tryout of sorts just before Boston and was asked to come on board for the month. I will be returning to NC and ZAP (and HCSA) at the end of May but I was excited to get back on the soccer field after my brief hiatus the last new months.

next_level_soccer_academy_soccer_camp_in_nj

Thanks for reading!

Here is my last week of training (4/19-4/25):

Sunday: AM: 5 miles (5×30 sec post run)

Monday: AM: 28.2 miles (Boston Marathon)

Tuesday: AM: OFF

Wednesday: AM: OFF

Thursday: AM: OFF

Friday: AM: OFF

Saturday: AM: 4 miles

Total: 37.2 miles, 3 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

