Busy week!

Last week was quite busy for me. Not only was it my first week of over 90 miles since Boston, I had a very busy 3 day stretch at the end of the week! Here’s what I was up to:

Wednesday: Pete had me do a 10x1k workout as my first true hard effort back. The session started out very conservatively and progressively got quicker. I ran the first rep at 3:11 and the last at 2:58. Overall, it was a solid workout. Aerobically, it felt very easy but my hamstrings and glutes are still working to heal so when I began cutting down the pace it became somewhat difficult to turn my legs over. This discomfort was something I expected before doing the workout but it still feels crappy when it’s actually happening!

Rider University track where I did my last few k repeats Wednesday. Note: There weren't quite as many people present for my workout as this picture indicates.

Rider University track where I did my last few k repeats Wednesday. Note: There weren’t quite as many people present for my workout as this picture indicates.

Later that night I ran a training session for the U16 boys team I have been working with and ended the night getting packed up to head to Charleston, SC early the next morning for my sister’s  MUSC Pharmacy School graduation.

Thursday: My alarm went off at 4:30am and I was out the door by 4:45 to make my way to JFK Airport for my flight. JFK is “only” 67 miles from Hopewell, NJ but the traffic going through NYC is always rough! I have enjoyed being so close to Philly and NYC the past 2 months but the traffic in this area of the country has been shocking to a Southern boy not used to allotting at least 1 extra hour when driving to any major nearby city! After roughly 2 hours I was safely at the airport and quickly to my gate.

I arrived in Charleston before 11am and after getting picked up by my mom, quickly threw on my running shoes and headed out the door. I got in 11 or so easy miles and then hit the shower as the graduation ceremony was fast approaching.

The hooding ceremony was fun to watch as I know how hard Sarah has worked the past 4 years. I was a very proud older brother (two years her senior) as I watched her walk across the stage to accept her degree. I’m confident she will be a great pharmacist for years to come.

Sarah and I after her hooding ceremony!

Sarah and I after her hooding ceremony!

That evening, family and friends gathered for a cookout. As I don’t get home very often anymore it was nice to see my aunts, uncles, and grandparents all in one place celebrating. Good times.

Friday: I was once again up early to get my run in before flying back to JFK. Pete gave me the option of doing a mini progression run at the end of a 13 mile run if I felt good. I had decided earlier in the week that I wanted to get this moderate effort in so I headed to the West Ashley Greenway. The WAG is a flat (obviously), mostly paved path that extends for 7 miles one way. The city has started to add in some mile markers but there are only a few currently in place. My last few miles were 6:15, 5:54, 5:45, 5:42, 5:32, 5:25, 5:18. Again, aerobically it wasn’t terribly difficult but my legs were still a bit achey from the workout 2 days prior.

Beginning of the West Ashley Greenway in Charleston, SC.

Beginning of the West Ashley Greenway in Charleston, SC.

After finishing my run I showered and was at my gate within 50 minutes ready to head back north. After driving back to NJ with minimal traffic, I got in an easy 5 mile run to make it 18 for the day. Surprisingly, my 2nd run felt amazing considering the hectic last 36 hours. My body always surprises me!

I concluded the evening with a soccer game. My team had a make-up game previously scheduled and we were able to pull out a big win under the lights. Another good ending to a day!

Saturday: ALL ABOUT RECOVERY! I woke up, ate breakfast, took a nap, ran an easy 9 miles, took another nap, then went out to dinner with Esther and some friends. People often laugh when they hear about how much we sleep at ZAP but it is truly the most important recovery tool there is. You can buy all the gadgets and supplements you want but without proper sleep you will never perform at your potential.

I’ll be headed back to ZAP at the end of the week! I’m excited to run with my teammates again and settle back into the High Country for the summer.

Thanks for reading!

Here is my last week of training (5/10-5/16):

Sunday: AM: 16 miles    PM: walk

Monday: AM: 8 miles   PM: 6 miles

Tuesday: AM: 11 miles (9×20 seconds post run)

Wednesday: AM: 13 miles (10x1k, 5×200 workout)

Thursday: AM: travel to Charleston, SC   PM: 11 miles

Friday: AM: 13 miles (last 7 miles 5:55-5:18)  PM: 5 miles

Saturday: AM: 9 miles

Total: 92 miles, 9 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

