Another solid week

This week’s entry will be short and sweet as I’m busy getting settled back into High Country life. Training wise, I was able to get in 2 good sessions during the week. On Wednesday I did a ZAP classic 7 to 1 fartlek at Bass Lake with Tyler, George, and Colley. The 7 to 1 workout consists of harder running in increments of 7 minutes, 6 minutes, 5 minutes, etc. all the way down to 1 minute with half time rest after each piece. The goal of the workout is to run each harder piece progressively harder and allow the recovery pieces to be run progressively slower throughout.

The workout started fairly well but I realized early on that I was slightly over-matched by my race ready teammates. Tyler has recently run 13:40 and 28:22 while Colley and George are both sharpening up for a fast mile in Boston, MA at the end of the week. Although I did the 2nd half of the workout alone I was able to get faster with each piece and it was a decent session after all the traveling of the previous few days.

On Friday, I did an easy 8 mile run that finished at the Appalachian State University track in Boone. Once at the track Tyler, George, Colley, Cameron, and I did 8×300 with 100 meters jog to toss in some speed work to finish out the week. I ran around 45 seconds for each interval and felt decent doing so. My hamstrings and glutes gave me some issues towards the end but I think they are continuing to heal, albeit slowly. Pete and I feel it’s really important that I get in some quality leg turnover work as I transition into shorter races over the next few months.

The ASU track which sits at EXACTLY 3,333 feet above sea level.

The ASU track which sits at EXACTLY 3,333 feet above sea level.

This week I will have a moderate mile repeat workout at Mulberry in Lenoir and then rest up for my season opener/rust buster on June 6 at the Asheville 10k. I am excited to test my fitness at this lower key event before getting into the meat of my season.

Art

Thanks for reading! Check back for my race recap next week!

Here is my last week of training (5/10-5/16):

Sunday: AM: 15 miles (8×1 min surges within run)

Monday: AM: 5 miles   PM: walk

Tuesday: AM: 12 miles (8×20 seconds post run)

Wednesday: AM: 14 miles (7 to 1 fartlek)

Thursday: AM: 10 miles   PM: 5 miles

Friday: AM: 11 miles (8×300 at ASU track, 44-45 seconds)

Saturday: AM: 10 miles

Total: 92 miles, 8 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

