Asheville Recap

Last week was a busy one for me! I began the week with a solid long run at Moses Cone with Tyler and then came back Wednesday for a workout with Griff and Joe at Mulberry. The plan was to run 6x 1 mile at threshold pace followed by 4×400 meters at roughly 5k effort. Pete measured out 2 miles with each 400 meter mark indicated by a cone. We did 2×1 mile with 75 seconds rest and then had 3 minutes rest before the next pairing of mile repeats. Here’s how it went:

2×1 mile (x3), 75 sec rest between intervals, 3 minutes between sets:

4:54, 4:52, 4:47, 4:48, 4:40, 4:41

4×400, 90 seconds rest: 65, 65, 65, 65

The miles we were running were mostly flat with the exception of the last 400 meters of the 2nd mile which rose a decent amount. All 3 of us felt strong and controlled throughout the session and were pleased with how it all played out.

After an easy few days of running I made my way to Asheville to run a very low key 10k to open up my season. The BAA 10k was originally going to be the start of my summer racing season but I was going to be in Asheville over the weekend anyway for a soccer coaching course so this race seemed like a good fit. I got into town the day before but was unable to check out the course so I had no idea what it would be like, although with it being Asheville I planned for and expected to see lots of HILLS!

My assumptions were proven correct as the course was nasty! In fact, I would say it was one of the harder courses I have ever run on. The opening 2.5 miles were rolling downhill and then the tough stuff began. Let’s put it this way, I comfortably got to 3 miles in 14:20 and then I passed the 4 mile mark in 20:25! That means I ran over 6 minutes for that mile which consisted of a healthy dose of switchbacks and steep, steep inclines. In the end, I finished 2nd behind a Chapel Hill based Kenyan and made a few bucks. My time was not good but in the context of my week it was another hard effort that will ‘serve me well’ (Pete Rea-ism) as I move forward to my target races.

National Youth Coaching Course

After the race ended I got in a quick cool down and made my way over to the Carolina Day School to take part in US Soccer’s National Youth License coaching course. This course is designed to provide club directors of coaching, youth coaches, and administrators with the knowledge to successfully structure soccer environments to players ages 4-12. The course focuses on how to provide developmentally appropriate sessions for the very young ages so they are properly prepared once they make the jump to more competitive levels of the youth game.

Although many clubs focus their best coaches with the high school aged teams, often the most qualified and able coaches are needed at these early stages so the foundation is properly set moving forward. I had a good time and have lots of work to do this week before returning to Asheville next weekend for the testing component of the course (written, oral, and practical field test). Wish me luck!

Carolina Day School Soccer Complex in Asheville, NC.

Carolina Day School Soccer Complex in Asheville, NC.

Thanks for reading!

Here is my last week of training (5/31-6/6):

Sunday: AM: 17 miles (8×20 seconds end of run)   PM: walk

Monday: AM: 7 miles   PM: 6 miles

Tuesday: AM: 10.5 miles (8×20 seconds end of run)   PM: 4 miles

Wednesday: AM: 13 miles (6 x mile, 4 x 400 workout)

Thursday: AM: 12 miles

Friday: AM: 9 miles   PM: 4 miles (4×200 accelerations)

Saturday: AM: 12 miles (Asheville 10k)  PM: US Soccer National Youth License

Total: 95 miles, 10 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Asheville Recap

  1. Vivienne says:

    Take it easy in this heatwave Cole!

Leave a Reply

