BAA 10k recap

(Boston, MA 062115 )  Elite runners start the B.A.A. 10K race in Boston, Sunday, June 21, 2015.    Staff Photo by Chitose Suzuki (Boston Herald)

Elite runners start the B.A.A. 10K race in Boston, Sunday, June 21, 2015. Staff Photo by Chitose Suzuki (Boston Herald)

The B.A.A. 10k was always going to be a super challenging way to open my competitive season. Since the race’s inception in 2011, it has consistently brought in a world-class professional field. In 2011, Boston and NYC champion Geoffrey Mutai ran 27:19 on a warm day to obliterate the field and each subsequent year has seen big time names run rampant up and down Commonwealth Avenue. This year’s field was no different with 2-time defending champion Steven Sambu back in town to go for the 3 peat.

Griff and I made our way to Boston on Friday and got in an easy run at the Boston Public Garden. My hamstring and glute had been feeling crappy all week and although it was slightly improving I was worried about Sunday’s race. My workouts have been solid but overall I could tell that my body was still a bit ‘off.’

On race morning, Boston found itself in a crazy downpour! The warmup, race, and cool down were all completed under either a steady drizzle or a torrential downpour! Temperatures were cool but the roads were very messy as lots of puddles had accumulated. In the end, I ran 30:35 for 12th place near the back of the elite field. I got out in 4:41 and then just slogged my way through the rest of the race around 4:55-4:58 pace. Basically, very BLAH!

Photo credit: runnersworld.com

Photo credit: runnersworld.com

Basically, the Boston Marathon really beat up my legs and although I’ve been feeling better every week, my progress has been GLACIAL! And from my own post-Boston experience as well as reading about other runners, I believe it is much harder to come off of a tough, unsuccessful marathon than it is coming off a perfect marathon. Yes, the distance is 26.2 miles any way you slice it but when cramping or picking up any type of in-race injury that you then race on for a portion of the race, that severely affects the recovery process. In my case, I cramped badly for over 10k and I think my body is still, almost 9 weeks later, trying to get back in the groove.

In each of my 3 half marathons I have come through 10k in around this time so it’s obviously disappointing but not a cause for panic. I know my fitness is there but I just need to be patient. I have 6 weeks to go in the season and I fully expect for everything to fall into place soon. Thanks for reading!

P.S. I want to give a big shoutout to Jesse Cherry who ran 2:16.34 at the Grandma’s Marathon on Saturday. He was a ZAP athlete for just over 2 years but has been working in Oakland, CA since 2013. This was his 1st marathon since 2012 and he knocked it out of the park! He is a true marathoner and I am so proud to be able to toe the line in LA with him in 2016!

Here is my last week of training (6/14-6/20):

Sunday: AM: 17 miles (8×1 min, 1×4 min, 6×20 sec)

Monday: AM: 6 miles   PM: 7 miles

Tuesday: AM: 11 miles (8×20 sec end of run)

Wednesday: AM: 12 miles (2k+2:30-90-45 workout) PM: 5 miles

Thursday: AM: 10 miles

Friday: AM: 9 miles (8×20 sec end of run)  PM: 4 miles (in Boston)

Saturday: AM: 9 miles (4×30 seconds post run w/Griff)

Total: 90 miles, 10 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “BAA 10k recap

  1. David Dao says:

    I enjoyed reading your blog….tks

Leave a Reply

