Onwards to Kentucky!

I had a very busy non-running week and a very easy training week coming off the BAA 10k. In an attempt to be organized and brief I am going to tell you about my week in a list format. Lazy, I know, but best when trying to recall all that I did!

Sunday: I raced the BAA 10k in the morning and then hopped on a plane back to Charlotte in the afternoon. I arrived in a balmy Charlotte (90 degrees) at 5:30 pm and headed back towards Blowing Rock with Griff. I was extra excited to get home as Esther was also making her way to Blowing Rock to move in all of her stuff.

With the World Championships in Beijing this summer she will not have a lot of time to move in so this week was a great opportunity for her to settle in before heading back to warmer training temperatures in Richmond, VA.

Boone+Jefferson+Wilkesboro=Blue Ridge Alliance Soccer Camps.

Boone+Jefferson+Wilkesboro=Blue Ridge Alliance Soccer Camps.

Monday: 6 am run with Esther before heading into Boone to work the Blue Ridge Alliance Soccer Camps. Run by HCSA, these camps run from 9-3 each day and they’re a lot of fun. The morning consists of coaching a particular topic and after lunch is mostly games. After getting done with camp I returned home to a much fuller house and got in another run with Esther. We then had dinner in town with Tyler!

Dinner with Tyler and Esther at Town Tavern in Blowing Rock, NC.

Dinner with Tyler and Esther at Town Tavern in Blowing Rock, NC.

Tuesday: Another very early morning run with Esther and Tyler through the Mayview neighborhood of Blowing Rock and Bass Lake. Then another warm day of soccer camp! Esther and I then headed to Boone for a nice dinner at Los Arcoiris.

Wednesday: Esther didn’t run with me as she had a workout later in the morning but I had another easy, smooth morning run. After getting done with camp Esther picked me and up and we headed for Charlotte to buy a couch from IKEA.

We had already picked one out and Tyler was nice enough to let us borrow his truck as he was in Eugene for USA’s. We got in an easy 2nd run in Hickory on the way to Charlotte and after a quick meal at (welcome to) Moe’s we made it to IKEA. After scooping up the couch we eventually made it home around 11 pm. It was a long day to say the least. I got 17 miles of running, 6 hours of soccer, and 4 hours of driving squeezed into 1 day. Tiring but productive.

Thursday: Esther headed back to Richmond after another nice medium long run. It was great spending a few days with her even though I was busy most of the week and she got a lot done at the new house! I put the couch together after she left and the living room actually looks livable now as opposed to 3 weeks prior when Pete had to lend me a chair as I had none in the house!

Esther and I's nook is beginning to take shape.

Esther and I’s nook is beginning to take shape.

Friday: Pete had a moderate climbing workout on the schedule for Friday morning but with camp starting at 8:30 am I decided to flip-flop my day and get in an easy shorter run before coaching then do the workout in the evening.

After getting in an afternoon nap I headed to Bass Lake for the ZAP classic Manor-Maze workout. The plan was to run a 4-3-2-1 minute fartlek with halftime rest up to the manor house, easily jog to the start of the maze, then run a 4-3-2-1 fartlek through the maze. Put together the workout is about 7 miles in length and has a little bit of everything in it: flat, climbing, and downhill.

I had a very good workout. I felt surprisingly rested and got to the manor in 14:37 (just under 3 miles) and through the maze in 12:19 (just over 2.5 miles). The only downside of the workout was that with about 2 minutes left I felt my hamstring pull slightly. Hopefully it’s nothing serious!

Saturday: My hamstring was incredibly sore during my run but my legs felt good. I really feel my fitness coming around and I’m proud that I was able to get in 90+ miles for the week while coaching a lot and running errands with Esther.

Next week will be very relaxed as I prepare to make my way to Frankfurt, KY to race the Buffalo Trace 5k. It’s a really fast course with good prize money and I will try my best to attack my road 5k PR of 13:51 if all goes well!

Check back next week for a recap of the race.

Here is my last week of training (6/21-6/27):

Sunday: AM: 12 miles (BAA 10k, 30:35, 12th)

Monday: AM: 7 miles   PM: 5.5 miles

Tuesday: AM: 12 miles

Wednesday: AM: 11 miles   PM: 6 miles (8×20 sec post run)

Thursday: AM: 13 miles

Friday: AM: 5 miles   PM: 12 miles (manor-maze workout)

Saturday: AM: 10.5 miles

Total: 94 miles, 10 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Onwards to Kentucky!

  1. Vivienne says:

    Nice photo Esther & Cole and love the couch! Will send RSVP soon. Happy running & stay hydrated!

Leave a Reply

