Treatment in Richmond

This week’s entry will be short and sweet because I’m working the ASU men’s soccer camp as we speak! I spent much of last week in Richmond, VA visiting with Esther’s family and getting some much needed treatment on my hamstring attachment. Dr. Rob Green of Active Chiropractic was kind enough to see me on short notice. Dr. Green is a triathlete himself and has visited ZAP several times through the years so he is familiar with the group and what we put our bodies through.

I went to Dr. Green’s office 4 days in a row and received a combination of ART, Graston, ultrasound, as well as guided PT. Although the first 3 treatments were very painful I was excited that on the 4th day my run was much less painful. My proximal hamstring (high hamstring) had a lot of built-up scar tissue and needed to get cleaned out so that new healthy tissue can develop.

Dr. Green believes that although treatment has helped a lot I will still need several more weeks until I’m ready for workouts. I was able to run 83 miles last week very relaxed but I can tell that my hamstring is not ready for anything under 6 minute pace right now. I will continue to get after the PT exercises he gave me and hope that my recovery continues!

Esther and I returned to Blowing Rock on Thursday in time for the start of the ZAP July Mini-Camp. Esther will be here for a week until she heads off to Europe before ultimately making her way to Beijing for the IAAF World Marathon Championships in last August.

Thanks for reading!

Here is my last week of training (7/12-7/18):

Sunday: AM: 12 miles

Monday: AM: 11 miles

Tuesday: AM: 8 miles   PM: 4 miles

Wednesday: AM: 12 miles

Thursday: AM: 9.5 miles  PM: 5 miles

Friday: AM: 9 miles

Saturday: AM: 9 miles   PM: 3 mile shakeout

Total: 83 miles, 10 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

