My last week of training (7/26-8/1)

Goal: More easy 2nd runs this Fall. Moses Cone should suffice as the venue.

Goal: More easy 2nd runs this Fall. Bass Lake should suffice as the venue.

I will again be brief in my weekly recap. I have once again been busy with both ZAP camps and ASU soccer camps while also continuing to run and recover from my hamstring attachment issue.

I ran 92 miles last week with a few more doubles tossed in than normal. I have been thinking a lot about the frequency of my runs and think I may begin to double more often once I’m back up to full speed. Right now, I run 12 runs per week at the most and 9 runs per week at the least depending on my current training volume. But at some point I began taking an odd pride in seeing how few runs I could do in a week while also stacking up the mileage.

During some weeks it has made sense to incorporate longer single runs but in other more high intensity weeks I think I have been bull-headed to the point that I wasn’t recovering as optimally as I could’ve been. With a busy Fall of both soccer coaching and running I need to be more mature with the length of my recovery days.

In simple terms, a single 14 mile run will provide a greater aerobic benefit than a 9 mile run and a 5 mile run, but the longer single run will not allow my body to recover as quickly. It’s a bit of a Catch-22 as improving one’s aerobic base/capacity is incredibly important in distance running but if you overdue that side of things you may get injured and not be able to run at all! So intelligent doubles may be a smarter long term solution to my training in the coming years.

There is this badge of honor that many long distance runners wear with pride if they are able to log lots of miles in as few runs as possible. I certainly fall into that category as I like to convince myself that if I train this way I am somehow working harder than the other pros I race against. This may in fact be true but if I get to the starting line tired what is it really worth? Racing is the reason for the miles in the first place so if you don’t perform optimally there something needs to change!

Don’t get me wrong, I still plan to try and squeeze in as MANY miles as I can while still staying healthy but I think there is always room for improvement in one’s training. Tweaks, adjustments, and self check-ups are vital as you move forward in the sport. Stagnation or contentment in action or thought is deadly.

Each time I sit down for a meeting with Pete and Ryan I ask them if there is anything else they think I could be doing better on a daily basis. I ask not for running suggestions but for an outside evaluation on my daily life as a professional runner. Am I sleeping enough? Do you think I’m eating well? Have I been doing the appropriate amount of supplemental gym work?

Usually, I have an answer for each of these questions but I value Pete and Ryan’s opinion a lot as well. These check-in’s are important and I encourage anyone with or without a coach to find another person very familiar with your training and get feedback on how they think you’re doing because often you’ll be surprised with the answers you hear.

Thanks for reading!

Here is my last week of training (7/26-8/1):

Sunday: AM: 8 miles   PM: 6 miles

Monday: AM: 5 miles   PM: 7 miles

Tuesday: AM: 12 miles

Wednesday: AM: 14 miles

Thursday: AM: 8.5 miles  PM: 5.5 miles

Friday: AM: 11 miles  PM: 5 miles

Saturday: AM: 10 miles

Total: 92 miles, 11 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

