My last week of training (8/23-8/29)

Last week was another good week of training as I inch closer to being ready to workout fully. I got close to 100 miles on 10 runs and had 3 days with runs over 90 minutes and another day with some light surges.

On Wednesday, most of the guys were doing a 2k-1k workout at the Boone Greenway and Pete gave me the option to throw in some light 1 minute surges during my run. I ended up doing 8×1 min at around 4:55 pace and my hamstring held up well. It was far from fast but I was pleased that I was able to change gears and spice up my run a bit!

On Saturday I ran 2 hours 5 minutes with Griff who was doing an 25 miler as part of his Twin Cities Marathon build up. Usually once or twice during a marathon build up Pete has his athletes get in an almost 3 hour run. These runs are usually not particularly fast but more a “time on feet” run to callous the body to all the pounding that the marathon will deliver. I enjoyed running with Griff and I think he was happy to have the company! Check out this map he scribbled out to show all the sights and sounds of his 2hr and 45min adventure through Blowing Rock.

Griff's map. Not to scale.

Griff’s map. Not to scale.

And to finish out a busy week I was excited to get to watch Esther run in the IAAF World Marathon Championships in Beijing. She has been gone for about a month and although I want nothing more than for her to get home, I was really excited for her race. The women’s marathon is the last event of the championships and Esther was also ready to get it on!  She spent time in Austria, Japan, and finally China in her last few weeks before the race. As usual, she had prepared well and was ready to face the distance with excitement and maturity.

So on Saturday evening after a long day of coaching, I made my way to Town Tavern in Blowing Rock to watch the race on Universal Sports. Nearly all the ZAP team came out to support Esther as well as a parent from one of the teams I coach (GO ROSS!). David Rogers of the Blowing Rock News came as well and wrote a very nice recap of her race here.

Esther finished in 24th place after being in 48th at 5k. She is an incredibly smart marathoner that seems to have an uncanny ability to accurately measure her effort throughout her races. I know that she wanted to finish in the top 20 but I would have been proud of her if she had finished dead last. To be honest, when she came onto the track in the Bird’s Nest and kicked by a Bahraini athlete I was very close to tears. I had been watching the race for over 2 and a half hours and to finally be able to see her running was an amazing moment. And to see her kick by someone made it even cooler!

She’s tough, she beautiful, she’s tenderhearted, and she’s going to be my wife very soon. I am a lucky man to say the least.

My girl.

That’s my girl.

Thanks for reading!

Here is my last week of training (8/23-8/29):

Sunday: AM: 8 miles

Monday: AM: 16 miles

Tuesday: AM: 10 miles   PM: 4 miles

Wednesday: AM: 10 miles (8×1 min within run)

Thursday: AM: 13 miles   PM: 4 miles

Friday: AM: 9 miles   PM: 6 miles

Saturday: AM: 19 miles

Total: 99 miles, 10 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

