My last of week of training (9/6-9/12)

I don’t think I’ve ever been more excited about a moderate progression run! After a decent long run on Sunday with Uncle Tim Meigs I made my way out to Todd with Burg for a progression run on Wednesday. The plan was to get in 12-13 miles total with 8 or 9 miles of that being “forward.” After an easy 3 mile warm up I set off from Todd, NC towards Fleetwood, NC with the goal of getting through the entire workout with little to no pain in my hamstring. Pace wise, Pete had suggested I begin the run conservatively around 5:50 pace for the first few miles and progress to no faster than 5:20 pace.

Section of Todd Railroad Grade Road

Section of Todd Railroad Grade Road

After coming through the first mile in a comfortable 5:27 I decided that I was still very relaxed and just kept rolling with it. Burg met me at each mile marker in his car and told to me keep it relaxed and try to even back off a bit. I clicked off 5:20, 5:13, 5:11, and 5:10 for my next few miles and enjoyed the wonderful weather and scenery. Being that this was the first tempo-type effort that I had done in over 2.5 months I was very excited with how smooth my body was adjusting to the paces I was running. I finished up 8 miles around 41:40 feeling great.

Big picture it was a step forward for both my confidence, fitness, and health. Although it was nice to get good feedback from my watch, I was equally pleased that my hamstring felt good. Burg noticed that I was not extending that leg as far as my healthy leg but running pain-free is the first step and getting back full range of motion will follow. All in all, a very good day.

In non-running news, Esther and I are finishing up final preparations for our wedding on September 26. I’m sure there may be a new frantic moments between now and then but as it stands now everything important has been taken care of!

Thanks for reading!

Site of my wedding in 11 days!

Site of my wedding in 11 days

Here is my last week of training (9/6-9/12):

Sunday: AM: 18 miles

Monday: AM: 7 miles   PM: 6 miles

Tuesday: AM: 10 miles (10×20 sec post run)

Wednesday: AM: 9.5 miles  PM: 4 miles

Thursday: AM: 12.5 miles (8 mile progression run)

Friday: AM: 8 miles   PM: 5 miles

Saturday: AM: 8 miles

Total: 88 miles, 10 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

