My last week of training (10/4-10-10)

Coming off of Applefest I was given a few easy days of running. My hamstring was not that sore after the race which was a nice change. On Thursday, Pete had me to a workout that consisted of a faster 3k to open, 4 minutes rest, then a 6-5-4-3-2-1 fartlek around the 1500 meter long Bass Lake. Here’s how it went:

3k: 9:19 (4:37, 4:42)

6-1 fartlek:

6 (5 min pace)
5 (5 min pace)
4 (4:45 pace)
3 (4:40 pace)
2 (no idea but faster than the 3)
1 (65 seconds for 400m)

This workout was a GRIND. I hesitate to overuse that word but for the purposes of this workout it fits perfectly. From the 1st step of the 3k I was working harder than I would have liked. The opening 3k was supposed to be 9:10 but I struggled to run it under 9:20. After beginning the fartlek portion of the workout I began to feel a bit better but I could tell my legs were still a bit heavy.

In the end, I was pleased with the workout when I learned from Pete that I had progressed on each piece of the fartlek. It’s nice to know that I was getting faster with each piece despite not feeling good at all. These tired and sluggish days are important to get used to as it truly preps you for the pounding of the marathon. Can you still run your goal pace when the legs are dead? Can you still find a good, steady forward rhythm despite not feeling good? These questions need to be answered with a resounding ‘YES!’ come February 13, 2016.

Away from running, I had a very busy weekend of soccer on Saturday and Sunday with trips to Mooresville and Pineville respectively. All in all, the week was yet another solid week of training in the midst of slowly getting back to 100% from my hamstring injury and balancing 90+ mile weeks with lots of time on the soccer fields.

Thanks for reading!

Here is my last week of training (10/4-10/10):

Sunday: AM: 16.5 miles    PM: walk

Monday: AM: 5 miles   PM: 4.5 miles

Tuesday: AM: 12 miles (8×20 sec end of run)

Wednesday: AM: 13.5 miles    PM: 4 miles

Thursday: AM: 14 miles (3k then 6 to 1 fartlek)

Friday: AM: 10.5 miles   PM: 4.5 miles

Saturday: AM: 9 miles

Total: 94 miles, 10 runs

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “My last week of training (10/4-10-10)

  1. tracyfgreen says:

    Your schedule reminds me of Once A Runner, when they talk about kids trying to hang with Bruce Denton. It’s not any one day, it’s doing it day after day. I’d make it through … Wednesday probably. Mileage-wise, not speed! Good luck with the hamstring — fought that for at least a year. Every time I tried to come back, it would flare up as soon as I added speedwork.

Leave a Reply

